Nicholas St. North and the Battle of the Nightmare King

 

Synopsis:  Nicholas St. North is a pirate and a ruffian who turns out to have a heart of gold.  But this book isn’t just about Nicholas.  It is also about the wizard Ombric, a girl named Katherine, the man in the moon, and a fearsome villain called Pitch.  Moonbeams play a role, as well as nightmares and fearlings, with a surprise appearance from an army of yetis.

Rachel:  It was surprising that I really didn’t know everything about St. Nicholas.  This book was adventurous.  If I were a character in the book,  I’d be Katherine!

Benjamin:  I liked the book, but it was a little weird.  It was a fun book to read.  It’s not my favorite, but I really did like it.  All the references to the moon and the man in the moon made it kind of strange.  Otherwise it was an awesome book.

Mom:   I agree with Ben that this book was a little strange.  The writing was kind of uneven and the character development wasn’t the best.  However,  the ideas in this book were creative and unusual; not your standard sort of fairy tale.  If you are expecting a sappy recreation of the life of Santa Claus, forget it!  This is not that book.  I really enjoyed the fabulous illustrations, which change the whole character of the book.  This book might tempt a reluctant reader who enjoys adventures.

 

